Cart 0
 

For as long as we’ve been here,

we’ve been here for the kids.

 
Old School.jpg
 

We go way back.

From the very start, the neighborhood of St. Johns had a special regard for kids. From humble beginnings in church attics and in drafty wooden shacks, the people of St. Johns formed schools to educate the children of the neighborhood. They’d trudge through muddy streets to learn, and alongside their teachers, parents and other community members worked to ensure that every child would have the chance to get a good education. As the neighborhood grew, so did the schools and when the little town’s founder, James John, died he left his entire estate to the kids. It’s on his land that our school sits. Smack dab in the heart of the neighborhood, today’s James John Elementary School is home to over 350 K-5th graders and one very proud PTA.

As the neighborhood has grown and evolved over the years, a few things have remained the same. We are still a neighborhood of hard-working people who take pride in what we do and how we do it. We look out for each other and welcome newcomers as friends. We still embrace learning and strive for a better world. We are St. Johns. We are the Pride of St. Johns.

The James John PTA continues the tradition of supporting our students, teachers, staff and administrators through engaging events, advocacy, and financial investment. Our school is the heart of our neighborhood, and we work to keep it strong. If you’d like to join us in our effort, we’d be honored to have you. 

 
 

Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.

Dr. SEUss

 
Heart+JJ.jpg
 

Together, we’ll get it done.

Those are our kids in there.

A school isn’t just a place where we drop off our kids for the day. Inside that brick and stone building, dedicated educators, support staff and administrators are putting in big St. Johns work leading our children to knowledge and teaching them how to be safe, respectful and responsible members of our community. We love our neighborhood school and we’re fully engaged in supporting it. As a PTA, we put in time making sure our teachers have everything they need to do their jobs right. We work to connect parents to the learning process through engaging events, educational efforts, advocacy and outreach. We pull the weeds outside and replace broken playgrounds when the state’s largest school district overlooks them. We passionately lobby for equity and fiercely promote literacy. We buy pencils, finance field trips, and pay for music programs so all of our kids have the very best opportunities to experience full and rich academic lives. It’s what any parent would do given the chance. Together, we’ll get it done.

 
 

Ready to LEAN IN?

Join Us

Donate

 
42839940_1184608328370087_1148608502743171072_o.jpg

STANDING RULES & BUDGET

The PTA operates under the bylaws of the Oregon PTA, with chapter-specific rules contained in the Standing Rules, which are approved by the members. Click the button below to open the current James John PTA Standing Rules.

2019-20 PTA OFFICERS

Co-President: Mason Marsh, president@jamesjohnpta.org

Co-President: Amy Occhialino, co-president@jamesjohnpta.org

Vice-President: Christine Vial, vp@jamesjohnpta.org

Secretary: Anna Romano, secretary@jamesjohnpta.org

Treasurer: Carla Wootton, treasurer@jamesjohnpta.org

The PTA, as a registered non-profit, operates under an annual budget approved by members. Click the button below for this year’s budget.

Membership Coordinator: Jennifer Beck, membership@jamesjohnpta.org

Volunteer Coordinator: Misty Gremaud, volunteers@jamesjohnpta.org

Communications Coordinator: Sarah Bills

Fundraising Coordinator: Marge Heffernan, fundraising@jamesjohnpta.org

Development Coordinator: Jeremy Simer, development@jamesjohnpta.org

Events Coordinator: Libby Listowich, events@jamesjohnpta.org

Literacy Support Coordinator: Emily King, literacy@jamesjohnpta.org

Parent Support Coordinator: Anne Berg, parents@jamesjohnpta.org

Green Team Leader: Kim Cotter, greens@jamesjohnpta.org


 

Get in Touch!

James John PTA

7439 N. Charleston St.

Portland, OR 97203

Name *
Name